Beaufort County Community College Faculty Senate Meeting April 23, 2013

Members Present:

Dell Enecks, Jay Anders, Aino Jackson, Dana Sauls, Kimberly Mullis, Jeanne Martin, Michele Manning, Judith Meyer, Donna Dunn, Dell Hagwood, Denise King, Cynthia King, Ken Robol, Becky Leach, Angela Boyd, Michelle Lieberman, Pat Walker, Caroline Hardee, Erica Schatz, Debra Baker, Lee Anne Oliver, Millie House, Dixon Boyles, Thomyka Holloman

Call to Order:

Jay Anders called the meeting to order at 12:04pm.

<u>Introduction of Dr. Ange</u>: Dr. Ange shared goals of new role. Her plans are to attend classes, develop a teacher procedure manual and invite a holistic approach to curriculum processes.

Minutes:

Debra Baker motioned to approve the Faculty Senate Meeting minutes from March 26, 2013. Caroline Hardee seconded. Motion carried.

Treasurer' Report:

Michele reported a balance of \$353.85 and 38 paid members.

Old Business:

Committee Updates:

- Administrative Council
 - Nothing to report.
- Planning Council
 - Jay commended Kim Mullis for leadership skills used on the planning council. A three year planning process is ongoing to revise the mission statement and incorporate Sharepoint across campus.
- Board of Trustees
 - Jay reported a degree in Health and Fitness Science will be implemented in the Fall 2013.
- Faculty Affairs
 - Judith Meyer to purchase name plates for the faculty members of the year plaque in Building 1.
- Student Affairs
 - Nothing to report.
- Instructional Affairs

Lynne Modlin presented the 2014-2015 Instructional Calendar options.
Fall Option A, Spring Option A, and Summer Option A were chosen by vote.

Standing Committee Chairperson/Members

• Members were encouraged to consider serving on standing committees. See attached revision of membership.

New Business:

- Selection of 2013 Faculty Senate Officers presented:
 - o President Jeanne Martin
 - o Vice President Michele Manning
 - o Treasurer Dell Hagwood
 - Secretary Dana Sauls

Adjournment:

• Dell Hagwood motioned to adjourn. Caroline Hardee seconded. Meeting adjourned at 12:27.

Respectfully submitted, Aino Jackson, Secretary